fbpx Honorary Scholarships (Academic and Sport) Awarded - Haileybury

Honorary Scholarships (Academic and Sport) Awarded

The start of the new academic year saw the annual awarding of Honorary Scholarships to pupils in the Lower Sixth. New Lower Sixth pupils and previous Vths, whose IGCSE/MYP results are judged to be particularly impressive are awarded the status of Honorary Scholar. They join the school’s Senior Enrichment programme for those pupils who are holders of Academic Scholarships.

This year Henry Bexson, Beth Hitchock, Hannah Leighton, Charlotte Kennedy, Xavier Perraudin, Ram Raman and Emily Walker became Honorary Scholars and were presented with £150 worth of book tokens. Simon Smith (Deputy Head Academic) said, "It is fantastic to see such achievement and potential rewarded in this way. We have very high hopes for these pupils and I look forward to monitoring their progress over the next two years".

In a new venture Chloe Allen and Rhiannon Massey were awarded Honorary Sports Scholarships in recognition of their contribution to sport at national level. Chloe represents England in Lacrosse and Rhiannon is a member of the GB National Youth Sailing Squad. Ian George welcomed the decision to award Honorary Sports Scholarships saying, "It is hugely important that we, as a school, recognise the fantastic achievements of our pupils in all sports. What Chloe and Rhiannon have achieved is a result of a great deal of hard work and commitment to ensure they balance their sporting commitments with their academic work. These honorary scholarships are richly deserved." Honorary scholarships were also awarded at the end of the previous academic year to Sebastian Parry, Alfie Kenton, James Cassidy, Harry Pearce and Casey Mangan as they move into LS2 and Removes.

The first Senior Enrichment Programme event of the term will take place on Thursday 13th September when MP Charles Walker’s talk will concern Backbench MPs and the Coalition.