The Order of the Redeemer (Basilikon tagma toi soteros) was established by King Otto on 1 June 1833. Classes: The Order of the Redeemer was awarded for defending the Kingdom of Greece during times of war. . The Order of the Redeemer (Saviour) is the highest decoration awarded by the Greek government . The Order of the Redeemer was the first Hellenic Order to be established by the Fourth National Assembly at Argos in 1829, during the Greek War of Independence. The award bears the name Redeemer due to the Assembly's belief that the Greek nation was reborn through divine assistance. The relevant Decree was signed in Nauplio by King Otto of Greece on May 20, 1833. From that date onwards, the insignia of the Order were conferred on Greeks and foreigners alike who were distinguished during the struggle for independence. Currently, the degrees of the Order of the Redeemer are bestowed by the Greek government to distinguished Greek citizens who have defended the interests of the country in time of war or, who have rendered highly exceptional social services in Greece or abroad. The Order is also conferred upon eminent personalities who are not Greek citizens. The picture is of the Commander's award.

Major General Sir Charles Edward CALLWELL KCB Haileybury Lawrence 1871 - 1876.2

He was awarded the Commander of the Greek Order of the Redeemer. Served in the Turko - Greek War of 1897

Brigadier General Keith Maitland DAVIE DSO                                                         United  Services College 1882.3 - 1882.3

Greek Order of the Redeemer 2nd class

Colonel Henry Lewkenor KNIGHT CMG DSO         Haileybury Trevelyan 1888.1 - 1890.1

Commander, Order of the Redeemer, Order of Merit & Military Cross.

CHRYSSOUN ARISTEION ANDREIAS (Greek Cross of Valour) Awarded in three classes; 

Commander's Cross Gold Cross Silver Cross Pictured at left is the Commander's Cross (from 1913) suspended from the neck ribbon. This is equivalent to the British Victoria Cross.


Admiral Sir Royston Hollis WRIGHT GBE KCB DSC & Bar    Haileybury Melville 1922.3 - 1926.3


WAR CROSS (Polemikos Stauros 1940)

Instituted in three classes on 11 November 1940, this cross was awarded for acts of heroism in action to officers, NCO's and men of all military services alike. The bronze cross is surmounted by a gilt, silver or bronze crown to denote its particular class. A small crown, either gilt, silver gilt or bronze, according to the Class of Cross, was added to the ribbon for each subsequent award (or, mention in the Order of the Day) to the same person. Until 1942, the first award could be in any of the three classes, after that by enforced law, the first award and the subsequent ones (to the same person) were always of the 3rd Class, In case of more awards, up to three, the War Cross was upgraded to the next higher Class. 


Major Frederick John Vivian FORD - Imperial Service College 1930.3 - 1936.2

Awarded 1942 following service in Crete.

Colonel Henry Lewkenor KNIGHT CMG DSO         Haileybury Trevelyan 1888.1 - 1890.1

Greek Order of the Redeemer, Order of Merit & Military Cross.

Commander Alan Doxford McILWRAITH Imperial Service College 1922.3 - 1927.2 Commanding Officer, MGB 609 19th MGB Flotilla .He was awarded French Croix de Guerre  (silver star) for :-"landing French persons on enemy shores 06-07.43" . Mention In Despatches " 13.10.1942 action R-boats Dover Straits 16.08.42." Greek War Cross 3rd class "04.07.1944; salvage of Adrias mined in the Aegean"

Colonel Herbert Ellicombe MOLESWORTH CMG DSO     United Services College  1884.1 - 1889.2

 Greek Military Cross.

Brigadier General E.S HOARE-NAIRNE C.B, C.M.G

Greek Military Cross


To flying officers and NCOs for valour in time of war.


Wing Commander Lewis George BURNAND OBE DFC     Imperial Service College 1926.3 - 1929.3

Awarded the Greek DFC 1943



The Order of George I was formerly an Order (decoration) of Greece named after King George I of Greece. Royal Order of George I (Basilikon tagma toy Georgioy A).  It was replaced in 1975 by the Order of Honour. The Order was created in 1915 by King Constantine I of Greece and was awarded in 5 classes to those who distinguished themselves in causes of their nations

Major Keith Riddell BINNING MC     Haileybury Hailey 1908.1 - 1911.3

Officer of Order of King George of Greece


Colonel Sir Kinahan CORNWALLIS GCMG CBE DSO       Haileybury Trevelyan  1896.3 -1902.2

Commander of Order of George I of Greece

Brevet Colonel Clinton Francis Grant HENSHAW  OBE TD Imperial Service College 1923.1 - 1927.2

Order of George I. Officer's cross (4th class, actually called 'Gold Cross') awarded 1945

General Sir Walter Mervyn St. George KIRKE GCB CMG DSO JP DL   Haileybury Thomason 1891.1 - 1893.2

Order of King George of Greece

Captain Allan Thomas PEACHEY CBE DSO RN     Haileybury Thomason 1909.3 - 1914.2

Order of George I.

Donald Surridge SCOTT    Haileybury Thomason 1927.1 - 1930.2

RASC .MEF 1940 - 1945. Silver Medal of George 1 with swords.

Lieutenant Colonel William Walcot STEWART MC Haileybury Highfield 1929.3 - 1933.3

Royal Order of King George 1

Sir Edmund WYLDBORE - -SMITH    Haileybury Le Bas 1891.1 - 1894.3

Commander of Order of George I of Greece


This medal, created on 25 January 1945, was awarded to Air Force personnel for 12 months of meritorious service with combat units and to ground staff for 18 months of service in combat or technical units in time of war. The usual silver spiral emblems denote multiple awards

Lieutenant Colonel Hugh Barry O'SULLIVAN MC   Imperial Service College 1928.3 - 1932.2


GREECE ORDER OF PHOENIX (Basilikon Tagma toy Phoinikos)

"The Order of the Phoenix was established in 1926 and is awarded to Greek citizens who have excelled in the fields of public administration, science, arts and letters, commerce, industry and shipping. It is also conferred upon foreigners who have promoted Greece's stature abroad in the above fields. "The Order is named after the mythical bird Phoenix, which is depicted on the obverse side of the Star and the Cross. The reverse side bears the emblem of the Hellenic Republic. "The Order consists of five grades or classes."

Civilian issue. Order instituted in 1926. Military issue with crossed swords instituted in 1941. Obverse : Gold phoenix over enamelled cross suspended from Royal crown. 

Instituted on 13 May 1926 as a Republican Order of Merit reserved for foreigners to replace the Royal Order of George I. The Phoenix symbolises the re-birth of Hellenism with the establishment of the Greek Republic. Its design was altered after the re-establishment of the Monarchy and was renamed the Royal Order of the Phoenix on 18 January 1936 (Hieronymussen, 1970). The new Order could now be conferred upon Greek citizens, to reward them for distinguished military or civil services. In 1941 with the outbreak of the Second World War a military division of the Order was established. This was awarded for acts of bravery in wartime.

Colonel Henry Lewkenor KNIGHT CMG DSO         Haileybury Trevelyan 1888.1 - 1890.1

Greek Order of the Redeemer, Order of Merit & Military Cross.

Major General Reginald Carteret de Mussenden LEATHES CB LVO OBE      Imperial Service College 1923.3 - 1927.3.

Awarded in 1932. At the time he was a Lieutenant Royal Marines with the British Naval Mission.


Medal for Military Merit

Instituted on 28 February 1917.

Awarded for heroism and leadership in combat.


Brigadier General E.S HOARE-NAIRNE C.B, C.M.G

Medal for Military Merit 2nd Class

Brigader-General H.L Knight., C.M.G., D.S.O

Medal for Military Merit 2nd Class