Notable Haileyburians

Since its earliest days, Haileybury's distinctive and progressive learning environment has shaped many prominent, influential and distinguished figures. In law, politics, military service, the arts, sports, the creative industries and elsewhere, Haileybury's contribution to the world is profound. This page tells you more about some of our many famous alumni.

A place of progressive learning

Combining a progressive learning environment with a focus on service to society, Haileybury has, since its earliest days, helped develop individuals who have gone on to shape the world in which we live today.

Educational Innovation

Perhaps the unsung Haileyburians are those who led it in its thinking. Haileybury's first Master, Arthur Gray Butler (1831-1909), was an educational innovator of the first order; we cannot forget that in the College's earliest days, the Revd. Thomas Malthus (1766-1834) was one its most prominent and influential teachers.

Dedication to service

Many Old Haileyburians have left the College to progress in careers in politics, the civil service, the military and in national and local administration.

Our more famous alumni in these areas include Lord Clement Attlee, KG, OM, CH, PC (1883-1967); Field Marshal Edmund Henry Hynman Allenby, 1st Viscount Allenby GCB, GCMG, GCVO (1861–1936) and Captain Cyril Hubert Frisby, VC (1885-1961), one of 17 alumni associated with the College who have been recipients of Britain's highest honour for valour in the face of the enemy.

Creative minds

Haileybury also has an established reputation for the nurturing of artistic and creative talent.

The College has shaped great artists such as CW Furse (1868-1904), Rex Whistler (1905-1944) and Bryan Wynter (1915-1975).

In theatre, former Haileyburians include the playwright, Sir Alan Ayckbourn (1939 -) and actors Simon MacCorkindale (1952-2010); Stephen Mangan (1968 - ); and the Woodward brothers Tim (1953 -) and Peter (1956 -).

Haileybury also has a rich tapestry of TV and film alumni which include the TV celebrity Dom Joly (1967 - ); TV producer John Howard Davies (1939-2011); scriptwriter Michael Aitkins (1947 -); and film directors Guy Hamilton (1922 -) and Christopher Nolan (1970 -).

Discover more

Whether in areas of educational innovation, service to state and community, or in dedication to the arts, Haileybury has a rich history to inspire pupils of today and influence the world of tomorrow. Find out more about how Haileybury's famous alumni on this page (please note, the alumni referred to on this page are just a sample; more will be added in due course).

Haileybury Hertford SG13 7NU 01992 706200 Registered charity number 310013